Quick Enquiry
By submitting you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.


Next up in our Meet the Metals Team series is Amanda Stephen, Operations/Accounts Assistant at John Lawrie Metals. Today Amanda shares her insight into the favourite part of her job and highlights how rewarding it is to be part of a busy team.

How long have you worked at John Lawrie Metals?

4 years

Have you always worked in the scrap metal industry? Or what other roles have you had before?

I worked at Leiths Scotland Ltd in Accounts for 9 years before coming to John Lawrie Metals.

What does your job entail?

I work between Operations and Accounts – In Operations, I assist with day-to-day tasks such as answering calls/emails, arranging travel and accommodation for our team working on projects off-site and issuing Purchase Orders. In Accounts I process the Overhead Invoices matching to the Purchase Orders issued fromOperations, in both roles there are other admin tasks that I do but I won’t bore you with all the details…

What is a typical day like?

Sitting in the Weighbridge office at our Tullos operations can be very busy; I didn’t realise just how busy it can be until I moved up here during COVID times. There is always plenty going on, between conversations, ringing phones, radio contact between the yard and Weighbridge teams, taking scrap in and out of the yard. When we eventually get a quiet spell the peace and quiet is most welcome (but doesn’t usually last too long!).

What’s your favourite part of your job?

A.S: I enjoy most parts of my job, it’s a busy role so I always have plenty to do to keep me occupied.

What’s the most challenging part of your job?

A.S: Meeting our Accounts deadlines

What do you like most about your job?

I love working with the team on the Weighbridge and in the yard - thankfully I have thick skin and a good sense of humour!

Where are you from?

Kincorth, Aberdeen

Where did you go to school?

A.S: Kincorth Academy

What do you like to do when you aren’t working? Any talents or hobbies?

I have an 11 year old daughter and 6 year old son so, when I am not at work I am normally being ‘Mum’s Taxi’. But I do enjoy going out with friends and I have a close Family, so we normally do a lot of socialising together.

What’s your favourite sport, if any?

I do enjoy watching Rugby.

Who or what inspires you?

A.S: I have to say my big sister Sharon inspires me 😊

Coffee or tea?

A.S: Tea

Which 3 guests for a dinner party, dead or alive?

John Bishop & Chris & Rosie Ramsay, what a hoot that would be!